Cake and Bibliobeverages

See, I said I’d talk about food.  Cathy, one of our shelvers, made an Italian creme cake for me, with lots of cream cheese icing, and it is awesome.  I’ll probably have diabetes by tonight with the huge slice that I ate, but it will totally be worth it.

Today was a pretty tame day by public library standards.  It was busy, and there were screaming children; but, no accused me of base treachery, or asked me to waive huge fines, or sarcastically called me “sweetie”, or got too close to my face (some people have NO sense of personal space or boundaries).  It kind of makes me wonder what’s in store for my last day.  I hope the crazies haven’t been saving up the crazy.

Also, in my ALA e-newsletter, there was a link to this post – http://blog.booklistonline.com/2008/07/15/booze-and-books/ – that I thought was a really good idea, and being the wino that I am, thought to challenge myself to beverage/book pairings.

  • Cicero with Bordeaux – A good Bordeaux is my philosophical/thinking wine of choice.  Would also pair well with Plato.
  • Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel series with Earthquake Petite Sirah – A complicated and serious but totally sensuous series and an inky purple/black red … perfect.
  • Voltaire’s Candide with Kamikaze shots – If you’ve read Candide, this needs no explanation.  Actually, I’d put kamikazes with Camus as well, but for totally different reasons.
  • John Irving’s The Hotel New Hampshire with Russian Imperial Stouts – dark goes with dark.
  • Anchee Min’s Red Azalea with a Shiraz/Viognier blend – Min’s autobiography displays both incredible strength and vulnerability in her femininity … the shiraz/viognier blend would complement the two sides.
  • Cash by Johnny Cash with Tequila Shots – duh.
  • Madeleine L’Engle with Prosecco – She’s lighter and optimistic, but not without substance – I love Madeline L’Engle
~ by Jess on July 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

